Why “Good Guys” Go Unnoticed When Dating Black Men

Boom, you’ve hit the nail on the head. I’m a guy and I’m constantly telling guys this. In my opinion women want a man, who knows how to please himself, knows who he is as a man and isn’t afraid to take charge of a situation. The problem is, nice guys are reading and listening too much to what women say they want, which is always a nice guy. I used to do the same
,but then I realised. It’s important to not just listen to what people say but also to watch their actions

Insightful perspectives from a young, black, educated creative

For me, the dating scene has been filled with the excessive use of dating apps like Tinder, SoulSwipe, Plenty of Fish, etc. The constant routine of swiping right and finding a match has been my approach to dating for the last few months and I must admit that the process of “trial and error” when it comes to finding “the one” is truly exhausting.

It’s not that I can’t seem to find a man because trust me, they’re out here alive and well, but the issue is finding someone who values the meaning of a committed relationship, and at the age of 24, I am finding that most people of this generation are delusional about what it means to be committed.

Image result for relationship memesDr. Gina Barreca professor of English literature and feminist theory at the University of Connecticut suggest that “commitment” is one of those gender-specific terms that gets itself all tangled…

View original post 1,244 more words

One thought on “Why “Good Guys” Go Unnoticed When Dating Black Men

  1. Pingback: Why “Good Guys” Go Unnoticed When Dating Black Men | Insightful perspectives from a young, black, educated creative

Leave a Reply

