Light-Skinned vs. Dark-Skinned….Ain’t We All Black?!

Black Tea Dispensary

Okay so this topic can be a heated one. This topic is one that dates back to slavery times and it does not seem to be going anywhere. That dreadful light-skinned vs. dark-skinned argument.

Okay, so I would call myself a dark, light-skinned girl, meaning I ain’t quite high yellow,but I can’t be considered Brown-skinned (yet another division….*side eye*). I would consider my skin color to be closest to to the color of Peanut Butter. I say all of this to say, I do not condone this light vs. dark mentality. Because my father was darker skinned and my mother lighter skinned, I appreciate the beauty that comes in all shades.

But some of y’all…man, y’all go in! Light skinned girls are “bougie” (which is derived from the word “bourgeoisie”, which describesthe “middle class, typically with reference to its perceived materialistic values or conventional attitudes” and back when this word…

View original post 808 more words

2 thoughts on “Light-Skinned vs. Dark-Skinned….Ain’t We All Black?!

Leave a Reply

