Kids are a blessing

10430458_10204864166792475_8764293376559532241_n

11052871_10204864170992580_2367249441192584506_n

The woman laying in the hospital bed, that’s my girlfriend. I met her when she was six months pregnant with the baby she is holding now. We’ve only been dating for three months, but I feel like I have been through the whole 9 months of pregnancy with her. My he nurse would ask if I was Dad? I hesitated but my girlfriend said yes. So all the nurses would just randomly call me dad. She just gave birth to him on 9.8.2015. He was 10lbs and 9oz.This is her third child/ son. It was my first time witnessing a birth of a baby and I’m just 21 years old. When he came out I felt like he was mine. I chose to step up and fill some shoes another man had left behind. I chose to be a father figure, a male role model to this little guy. This isn’t even my son. Most men just walk out on a family, but I walked in on one, that was missing a male role model. A lot of young men need this because it is somewhat hard for a woman to try and raise a man. When a father isn’t there in a young mans life he seems to grow hatred towards some people also. So let’s rebuild the black families. Let’s stop the loss. Kids are a blessing.

Benjamin F. Baker III

Leave a Reply

